Real Estate


Property purchasing overview

There are no restrictions on foreigners buying property in Ghana. There are four types of land in Ghana: Government Land, Vested Land, Customary/Chieftain Land, and Family/Private Land.

To acquire Government Land or Vested Land, an application must be filed with the Executive Secretary of Lands Commission or the Regional Lands Officer, depending on the location of the land.

Customary Land belongs to different Chiefs in Ghana, who have the authority to grant the particular customary land for which they are responsible. The 1992 Constitution states that there must be no free hold interest granted in land.

Customary Land granted to private individuals or families before the 1992 Constitution is now considered private land. In this case, the buyer has to go directly to the owner of the land.

The services of a real estate agent and a lawyer are needed in acquiring property. A title search is very important to determine the ownership and kind of land the buyer is interested in. Once all agreements have been settled, a Deed of Conveyance, or an appropriate instrument of transfer (indenture), is prepared by the lawyer. Upon signing, the title is transferred to the buyer, who, at the same time, pays for the property. The title is registered at the Lands Commission Secretariat.

Who's Online

We have 3 guests and no members online

Learn About Ghana

Ghana is a West African country, bounded on the north by Burkina Faso, on the east by Togo, on the south by the Atlantic Ocean, and on the west by Côte d'Ivoire... more

We are passionate about seeing Ghana grow. A place of beauty and emerging markets.

Contact us